Award Presentation

The Charles McMickle Award for Excellence
and Innovation

The Charles McMickle Award for Excellence and Innovation is established in memory of our colleague who passed away in 2010. Charlie was Director of Technology and a guiding force behind our network architecture.

Charlie McMickle was instrumental in the design and the deployment of NJEDge.Net Regional Optical Network which is the foundation of NJEDge.Net. It enables us to deliver emerging technologies for academic innovations. The first interactive video classroom deployed to 39 New Jersey colleges as well as the design and deployment of a digital video satellite uplink and video portal used by all NJ higher education institutions was designed by Charlie. He was a key member of the William Paterson University community and responsible for some of the original grants that created the first video classrooms in NJ’s colleges and universities.


The inaugural recipients of the Charles McMickle Award for Innovation and Excellence are:

  • Saul Fenster, president emeritus of New Jersey Institute of Technology
  • Jeanne Oswald, past executive director of the New Jersey Commission for Higher Education
  • George Carroll, past executive director of NJIN, the precursor of NJEDge.Net
  • Kathy Ciociola, project manager of NJEDge.Net at Verizon
  • Dennis Bone, former president of Verizon New Jersey